Brittney Griner meets Slate

The story in this story isn’t, in the end, Brittney Griner, though she is fabulous. It’s that when I first went to this article (http://www.npr.org/blogs/codeswitch/2014/04/08/300516000/coming-out-in-basketball-how-brittney-griner-found-a-place-of-peace?utm_medium=facebook&utm_source=npr&utm_campaign=nprnews&utm_content=04082014), I did what I always do (after telling myself not to, of course) – I scrolled through the comments.

I don’t reply to articles myself, because I don’t like having to sign up for whatever comment-enabling program is required in order to post. I roll my eyes at trolls with the best of them, and compose arguments in my head to the ignorant asses who usually post on these. If you saw NPR’s April Fool’s Day article, you’ll know what I’m talking about (if you didn’t, you can read about it here: here: http://www.uproxx.com/filmdrunk/2014/04/npr-april-fools-day-prank-facebook/.

But this time, the comments were wonderful. Reasoned, nuanced, respectful. They bemoaned the fact that even in the 21st century, Brittney can’t be just a gifted basketball player, but must be a gifted gay basketball player. They discuss that her gayness is relevant because she chooses to allow it to be a featured and celebrated part of herself, not a sidenote or a hidden shame. They discuss how society reacts when female athletes come out as compared to when male athletes do so. They use relevant examples and analogies. They do not call people names. They use proper grammar and vocabulary and spelling (for the most part). They thank each other for the other’s politeness and ability to see multiple sides to an issue.

They are a breath of fresh air.

Then again, the new “sleek and sexy” uniforms that the WNBA are proposing deserve a  post of their own. WHAAAT?

Leave a Reply

